Passports graphic Passports Home Luhr Library Home Page
Books Articles Journal List Databases eReserves Videos Web sites Help

Business & Finance Databases

Articles from Trade Magazines and Journals (including peer-reviewed)

Business Source Premier
Start here to find articles on most business and management topics. (more info...) |
ABI/Inform Complete
Covers hundreds of magazines and journals including articles from the Wall Street Journal (1984 to present). (more info...) |
Business & Company Resource Center
To do an article keyword search, use the "Advanced Search" button. To search for articles arranged by subject, click the "Articles" button. (more info...) |

Business Law Cases and Practice

CCH Research NetWork
CCH practice publications on employment & labor law; safety & OSHA regulations; and health law including FDA materials and applicable federal and state case law. (more info...) |
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Click the Legal tab, then use the menu to access state & federal statutes, case law, and law review articles and international legal materials. (more info..) |

Business Valuation

BIZCOMPS (part of BVMarketData)
Reports transactions of small private "Main Street" businesses. (more info...) |
Deluxe BVUpdate (part of BVlibrary.com)
Timely, concise, authoritative, access to the business valuation literature. (more info...) |
DoneDeals Online
Provides merger and acquisition details for private and public mid-market companies sold for purchase prices between $1 million and $1 billion. (more info...) |
Economic Outlook Update (part of BVlibrary.com)
Quarterly issues contain the relevant economic data needed to prepare a thorough business valuation report. (more info...) |
Mergerstat (part of BVMarketData)
Quantifies the minority discount and control premium data used in business valuation and appraisals of public companies.(more info...) |
Pratt's Stats (part of BVMarketData)
Highlights the details of sales of large privately and closely held companies. (more info...) |
Public Stats (part of BVMarketData)
Reports transaction details of public company sales. (more info...) |

Company Directories and News

Business & Company Resource Center
A company search in this database will link to a company profile, articles, company histories, investment reports, rankings, industry overviews for the company's lines of business and associations relevant to the company/industry. (more info...) |
LEXIS-NEXIS Academic
This database offers access to multiple company directories and can cover small to large companies in a single search. An Adobe PDF Guide to Searching Companies on Lexis-Nexis Academic is linked here.
Regional Business News
Provides the full-text of U.S. business wires, etc. (more info...) |
Sorkins Online (Fast login for MO and IL on-campus users)
Note: As of 01-25-2008, Sorkins is available to Webster MO and IL on-campus users only. More info.
Business, government, and non-profit directory for Chicago, St. Louis, and Kansas City. (more info...) |

Electronic Books and Reference Materials

NetLibrary
Over 15,000 online current and classic books in a variety of subject areas. (more info...) |
Gale Virtual Reference Library (from the )
Online encyclopedias and dictionaries on business and other topics. (more info...) |

Financial Statements & Investment Reports

Business & Company Resource Center
Do a company search to retrieve the company directory listing then use the "Investment Reports" tab to access Reuters investment information or the "Financials" tab to access basic stock data and financials.(more info...) |
Investext Plus (InfoTrac)
Note: Investext discontinued by vendor; library subscription ended June 2008
Mergent Online
Excellent source for financial statements and other data on U.S. public and international companies. (more info...) |
Value Line Investment Survey
Includes information on large cap stocks and industries. (more info...) |

Industry Ratios & Reports

D & B Key Business Ratios
Provides selected ratios for hundreds of industries. [more info... |
Industry Market Research
Reports on industry market research, business environment, company research, and global industry. [more info... |
Integra 5-Year Industry Data Reports (part of BVMarketData)
Provides industry financial benchmarks for privately-held companies in over 900 industries.
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage
Online access to Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys. (more info...) |

International Business

EIU ViewsWire
"Daily business intelligence on 195 countries." (more info...) |
Lexis-Nexis Academic
Click the Business tab to access U.S. and international company directories and country profiles including business opportunities and country briefings; the News tab to search U.S. and international news; and the Legal tab to search for international legal materials. (more info...) |
Stat-USA
The US Dept of Commerce's database on US and international business statistics and documents. (more info ...) |
WISERTrade
Source for international trade statistics and company listings. (more info...) |

Questions?

Note: a current Webster I.D.# or Eden database password is required for access to the databases. See our Database Help page for more information about access.

Return to: Main database home

Return to ↑ top of page

Updated June 17, 2008
The URL for this page is http://library.webster.edu/databases/datbusiness.html