Passports graphic Passports Home Luhr Library Home Page
Books Articles Journal List Databases eReserves Videos Web sites Help

Nursing, Health Care, & Medicine Databases

Core Nursing Databases

CINAHL with Full Text (nursing)
Indexes nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health journals. (more info...) |
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
A database of healthcare articles and protocols analyzed from an evidence-based medicine perspective. (more info...) |
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Coverage of medicine, nursing, and allied health. (more info...) |

Core Nurse Anesthesia Databases

Medline
Comprehensive index to clinical medicine, biological sciences, and related fields. (more info...) |
Anesthesia Abstracts
Abstracts of anesthesia-related articles from a variety of healthcare journals.(more info...) |
Dissertation Abstracts Online
Covers mainly U.S. dissertations since 1861. (more info...) |

Additional Healthcare Databases

Alt-HealthWatch
Covers the field of alternative medicine. (more info...) |
Cochrane Controlled Trials Register
A bibliography of controlled trials culled from MEDLINE, conference proceedings, etc. (more info...) |
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (Cochrane)
Contains abstracts of published systematic reviews on the effects of health care. (more info...) |
Health Source: Consumer Edition
Broad coverage of everyday health issues. (more info...) |
MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series
Clinical information on drugs and some healthcare topics. (more info ...) |
Natural Standard
Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. (more info ...) |
Protein Lounge
Cellular networks, protein interactions, etc. (more info ...) |

Additional Related Databases

ABI/Inform Complete
First choice for management issues, business trends, etc. (more info...) |
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (formerly ATLAS)
Scholarly coverage of religion and theology. (more info...) |
Biological Abstracts
Comprehensive life sciences database covering 1985 to present. (more info...) |
Contemporary Women's Issues>
Information on women's issues worldwide. (more info) |
ERIC (education)
Extensive coverage of education issues. (more info...) |
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Covers marriage and the family, parenting, gender issues, sexuality, etc. (more info...) |
Learning Express
Practice tests and tutorials for a variety of academic and licensing exams. (more info...) |
PsycInfo 1887-Current (psychology)
Lists materials on all areas of psychology and related fields. (more info...) |
SocINDEX with Full Text
Includes anthropology, sociology, gerontology, minorities, etc. (more info...) |

Cite Sources

Links to additional resources on citation may be found on our Citation Guides page.

APA Style Guide to Electronic Resources
APA guidelines for citing online sources. (Webster/Eden access only) Note: If you are using Acrobat 6.0 and have difficulty viewing the file, open Acrobat 6.0 and try the following: Edit--> Preferences--> Internet--> Uncheck PDF in browser.
APA Formatting and Style (Purdue Online Writing Lab)
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/560/01/
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (print copy; not online)
5th ed. Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association. 2001.
Emerson & Luhr Libraries Call Number: BF 76.7 .P83 2001. Click call number to see if a copy is available for checkout.
AMA Manual of Style (print copy; not online)
5th ed. Washington, D.C.: Oxford University Press. 2007.
Emerson & Luhr Libraries Call Number: R 119 .A533 2007. Click call number to see if a copy is available for checkout.
RefWorks (Webster/Eden access only)
Create your own research file of citations and notes. Export citations into Refworks and format bibliography in APA style. Note: you will need to sign up for an individual account the first time you log in to the database.

Questions?

Note: a current Webster I.D.# or Eden database password is required for access to the databases. See our Database Help page for more information about access.

Return to: Main database home

Return to ↑ top of page

Updated June 30, 2008
The URL for this page is http://library.webster.edu/databases/datnursmed.html